In 1933 a group of Christians in mid-Devon came together and formed Lapford Gospel Hall.
They built a church just outside the village of Lapford and worshipped in the Brethren tradition. More recently it was known as Main Road Chapel, but it was in the late 1990s, when the fellowship decided to leave its isolated building with limited parking, that they moved to the centre of the village.
The fellowship wished to be a greater part of, and serve, the local community and therefore chose to worship in the Village Hall. With this move, the name of the fellowship changed to Yeo Valley Christian Fellowship to reflect the locality.
Soon after this some members had a vision to honour our Lord by serving the local community. To this end we have purchased the redundant local shop and created a vibrant hub known as The Ark.
We are now Lapford Community Church which better reflects our passion as Christians to be church and serve the local community.
We hope you will join us in making more history.